Dublin states

The so-called Dublin system regulates which member state is responsible for processing an application for asylum. The heart of this agreement is the Dublin Regulation. An application is examined just once within the Dublin area. This approach ensures that an application is actually examined and that asylum seekers cannot be shifted from one country to another without receiving a proper asylum procedure (in order to avoid «refugees in orbit»). The Dublin Regulation is also intended to prevent asylum seekers from migrating on to other member states and lodging an asylum application multiple times.

No change in deeply dysfunctional Dublin system

31th of March / A statistical update published by ECRE’s Asylum Information Database (AIDA) releasing figures for 12 European countries from 2016 reveals persisting fundamental dysfunctions in the Dublin system. The main operators of the Dublin Regulation in 2016 were Germany with 55,690 requests and 3,968 transfers, Switzerland with 15,203 requests and 3,750 transfers and Sweden with 12,118 requests and 5,244 transfers.




Dublin returnees caught between law and harsh reality in the search for safety

09.02.2017 / Today the Danish Refugee Council and the Swiss Refugee Council publish a joint report regarding the situation of persons with special reception needs transferred to Italy under the Dublin III Regulation. The report focuses on reception conditions and access to the asylum procedure. It shows that persons with special reception needs are at risk of human rights violations due to the arbitrariness of the Italian reception system.

Is mutual trust enough? The situation of persons with special reception needs upon return to Italy. OSAR / DRC. Bern/Copenhagen 9th February 2017

Press Release from Swiss Refugee Council and Danish Refugee Council of 9th February 2017


AIDA – Asylum Infomation Database

The Asylum Information Database (AIDA) is a project of the European Council on Refugees and Exiles (ECRE), containing information on asylum procedures, reception conditions and detention across 16 European Union (EU) Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Germany, France, Greece, Croatia, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, United Kingdom) and 2 non-EU countries (Switzerland, Turkey).

Mapping asylum procedures, reception conditions and detention in Europe – click here!